Portraits, Film, and Light

In our home, photography is a fact of life.  Every member of the family has been a photographic subject or the one behind the lens at one time or another, and for me that adds up to a lot of portraits of family and friends in my body of work.  While I have taken my fair share of digital portraits, the portraits in film are the ones I love best, perhaps because the results of black and white digital conversion still cannot compare to the range of tonality one gets with black and white film types.  I happen to love black and white portraits.

The following photo, The Naturual, shows my youngest son’s love for my favorite Diana camera.  Each Diana camera is different.  His favorite camera always seems to be what my favorite is at the time.

Photography is a family affair.

Photography is a family affair.

Sometimes the playmates of my children find their way into the frames as well…

an untitled portrait

an untitled portrait

Here is an angel among us.  Look at the hearts in his eyes.

un ange parmi nous

un ange parmi nous

It’s nice to remember the longer days during these, the darkest, coldest, shortest days of the year.

girlfriends

girlfriends

More memories from the neighborhood…

a boy child

a boy child

My lovely daughter…

lovely

lovely

My youngest son with my oldest son’s girlfriend…  My youngest has the brightest eyes you’ll ever see.

bright eyes

bright eyes

And finally a portrait of the artist herself… a very old portrait!  It was taken with my late grandfather’s old Pentax.

Pentax ID

Pentax ID

Finally, through Decemeber 23rd, if you purchase any item from my Etsy Shop, you will receive an extra photograph!  You may contact me about availability for gifts, either through Etsy or via email at elinor@equivoquephoto.com.  Here are some of the photos currently offered in my Etsy Shop.

Becoming Light

Becoming Light

unspoken truths

unspoken truths

In the Form of a Dream

In the Form of a Dream

a poem in light

a poem in light

lost in translation

lost in translation

water, evening, poetry

water, evening, poetry

and summers lease

and summer's lease

frozen ghosts

frozen ghosts

morning song

morning song

equivoquephoto

4 responses to “Portraits, Film, and Light

  1. Such beautiful pictures! I love the little boy with the camera and the girl looking in the mirror.

  2. awww wow these are all gorgeous shots!

    I have asked for a lomo diana cam for xmas!

    I’ll feel like a kid on xmas day 🙂

  3. i really, really, really love the second one.

Leave a Reply

